top of page


CSSAS brings together world-class scientists from a broad range of disciplines to form a single integrated group focused on common goals. Our team was carefully selected, not only on the basis of the individual achievements of its members, and not only because it will enable unique tools and computations to be deployed in unique macromolecules and structures, but because, through existing collaborations, we have already acquired a taste for what is possible when combining all of our skills and perspectives.

Leadership & Principal investigators: Lab Members

François Baneyx

Charles W.H. Matthaei Professor of Chemical Engineering;
Director, CoMotion;
Vice Provost for Innovation

University of Washington

De Yoreo_Jim-outdoor.jpg

Jim De Yoreo
Deputy Director

Battelle Fellow, Materials Science

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Thrust Leads

Chris Mundy
Thrust 1 Lead

Laboratory Fellow and Physicist

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory


Brandi Cossairt
Thrust 2 Lead

Lloyd E. and Florence M. West Endowed Professor of Chemistry

University of Washington


Lilo Pozzo
Thrust 3 Lead

Boeing-Roundhill Professor for Excellence in Chemical Engineering

University of Washington

Principal Investigators
bottom of page